Laundry is My Favorite Chore

My husband works 110 hours a week, and I work six, which means that I do all of the housework.  I think this is pretty fair, because when he gets home I’d rather spend time with him than watch him do dishes (incorrectly) or clean sinks (sloppily).

So, I do the scrubbing, washing, soaking, mopping, sweeping, dusting, shining, polishing, and more.  I don’t love cleaning, but it’s a necessity with a newly-mobile baby, two cats, and a hubby who works in a hospital.  And I love the way the house looks after a good deep clean.

I loathe cleaning bathrooms, don’t mind dishes, and sort of enjoy vacuuming.

But I love laundry.

GIF-Doing-laundry.gif

I don’t know what is wrong with me, but I find it seriously enjoyable.  I love the act of sorting clothes into different baskets based on weight and color, dispensing detergent into the measuring cup, buying scented dryer sheets.  I enjoy that laundry can be done between tasks and at one’s leisure, and when it piles up, it’s usually out of sight and out of mind.

I like, too, that everyone else in my house appreciates clean laundry as much as I do.  My smallest cat makes a beeline for the dryer every time I open it, burying her little body in the hot laundry and closing her eyes in contentment.  Ruthie loves to sit on the couch with me while I fold the warm clothes, pulling them out from around our kitty and fluffing them in Ruthie’s face before they land in the basket.  Then, I plop Ruthie atop the freshly-folded clothes and carry them up the stairs.

When my hubby gets home from work, he always notices a clean towel or warm socks, and notes his appreciation.  This is highly unusual because he probably wouldn’t notice if I didn’t clean the house for a year.  (I came close to this record during my pregnancy, and he admitted that he did notice…but he was still too busy to do anything about it!)

Today, I’m still in Cincinnati visiting my family, and doing laundry was every bit as enjoyable away from home as it is in my own little house.

14 thoughts on “Laundry is My Favorite Chore

  1. Adrienne says:

    This is funny because I hate housework. I do a better job when I love with someone, which I haven’t done for over 20 years, that when I live alone. That said, sheet change day is my absolute favorite. I love getting into bed that night, sleeping on nice crisp sheets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shana Karnes says:

      I sort of hate the idea of “all housework,” too, and I especially hate when I’ve put it off for so long and company is coming and I have to clean EVERYTHING in just a few hours. I agree with you, though, and I love that new-sheet feeling!!

      Like

  2. jsementelli says:

    Such a sweet little slice of your life! I, too, and the laundry-doer in my apartment. My boyfriend hates it, and I truly am indifferent; but I hate the dishes- so we made a deal- he does the dishes, I do the laundry. We are both happy and we both appreciate the other doing the task that they don’t want to to. Win-win! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. write4todayblog says:

    I totally agree with you… I love doing laundry. I would seriously pick it every time, especially over dishes, dusting, vacuuming, etc. My favorite line was “My smallest cat makes a beeline for the dryer every time I open it, burying her little body in the hot laundry and closing her eyes in contentment.” I have four cats so I could identify with this portion of the story. Your details also helped me to envision the moment clearly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shana Karnes says:

      Ohh, it’s so cute when that little kitten comes sniffing around the dryer. The worst is when a load of clothes finished about a day ago and I open the dryer and everything’s cold…she just keeps looking at me like, “Mom, it’s broken!” 😦

      Like

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    When I was a stay-at-home mom, I cleaned all the time. Soap scum was not found in our shower, and dirty dishes were never in the sink. Fast forward to working years and my how things have changed. Laundry is still my favorite…except for putting it away! I can leave stacks for days!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shana Karnes says:

      Ha! And I am the reverse! So much more time to clean before I had kids, when I still worked…and so much more energy! Now with baby I’m like, well, as long as the rug she’s crawling on is kinda clean, I’m happy! 😉

      Like

  5. khays41 says:

    I completely feel you…I love doing laundry. People think I am crazy! I get happy when those baskets are empty, clothes are folded and put away.

    My favorite line was ‘Ruthie loves to sit on the couch with me while I fold the warm clothes, pulling them out from around our kitty and fluffing them in Ruthie’s face before they land in the basket.’ What a beautiful image!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

